Review Post : Gone Girl

Gone Girl

Gone Girl

Gone Girl

 Title : Gone Girl

 Author : Gyllian Flynn
 Publisher : Phoenix Fiction UK (UK Version)
 Pages :  466 Pages
 Year of Publication : 2012 (in Great Britain)
 Language : English
 Genre(s) : Mystery, Thriller, Romance
 Bought from : I borrowed this one from my sister =)

 Synopsis and Cover Pic : Goodreads

Synopsis :

Who are you? What have we done to each other?

These are the questions Nick Dunne finds himself asking on the morning of his fifth wedding anniversary, when his wife Amy suddenly disappears. The police suspect Nick. Amy’s friends reveal that she was afraid of him, that she kept secrets from him. He swears it isn’t true. A police examination of his computer shows strange searches. He says they weren’t made by him. And then there are the persistent calls on his mobile phone.

So what did happen to Nick’s beautiful wife?

***

Okay, I don’t know how to explain my opinion about this novel. I’m having, you know, a love-hate feeling towards this. I 
really want to express it in the shorter form but once I start writing, I can’t stop it. So here I am babblering and I hope 
you are interested enough to read =)

The premise of this novel is nothing new for me . It is about a man, Nick Dunne, a young-retired journalist, whose wife, Amy Elliot Dunne was gone missing from home while he was away, and suspected that she was kidnapped considering a mess that occured in their home. But the police and other people around Firstly, this reminded me of Paper Towns with quite similar premise and plot. Even the character of the female leads is in a certain way indifferent. I almost gave up to read this because it was quite boring in the beginning, thinking I’d better go for another novel more worth of the attention. But I thought it was a shame to drop this and give up. And it turned out I didn’t regret my decision. Facts revealed in the middle, about Amy. About who she actually was and what she was actually thinking. What she was actually planning to her husband. She, in fact, was not the sweet amazing Amy everyone’d been thinking of. She was a really freakin…okay, you know, when I knew this I was really pissed!!!! Fckin pissed! I gave my sympathy to her in the beginning , like she really wanted to delight Nick but it just didn’t work out, and Nick had a secret young mistress. But that feeling towards her directly dissolved and shifted towards Nick after knowing she ran away and made it look like her husband killed him on purpose to make Nick suffer and be accused of the murder which never happened.

“The way some women change fashion regularly, I change personalities. What persona feels good, what’s coveted, what’s au courant? I think most people do this, they just don’t admit it, or else they settle on one persona because they’re too lazy or stupid to pull off switch.” p.250

I know I shouldn’t have been like this for a fictional character but you know that feeling right, outraged towards persons in the novel who you know do not exist but you just keep feeling pissed because of who they are? That’s exactly what I was feeling back then. Fiuh. Well, I tried not to tell you a complete story, I do not want to spoil anything, but just a little hint, Amy is like a woman version of the TV-Version Sherlock– A high functioning sociopath. 

Really, what she did to her husband is really surprisingly horrible. Okay, I started being subjective and emotional..

Now that you read half of this, it may seem to you that this is a dark-love story, but it’s not. Flynn packed it 
with so many humors, shown throught the thought of the two main characters. SHe definitely annoyingly shocked and amazed me with the real Amy. She suceeded in making me curious of where the story headed and in the end, well, it’s quite unpredictably predictable. Okay, it’s confusing but when you read and finish with it, you might know what I’m trying to say…or you might not. Try not to be more confused lol.

Anyway, I have no favorite character in this story. Nick got my symphaty but the fact that he cheated was just too much to be ignored. But if I were asked who the most sane one is among all insane ones in this story, I would say Go, Nick’s little sister. She was cool, you know. I like her, but not enough to declare her my favorite.

“You just want an excuse to stay… You two, you’re fucking addicted to each other. You are literally going to be a nuclear family, you do know that? You will explode. You will fucking detonate. You really think you can possibly do this for, what, the next eighteen years? You don’t think she’ll kill you?” p.460

Because this novel was written to describe two perspectives from two main characters, it emphasized more of how Nick and Amy thought about each others, and also about some people involved in their marriage life. That is why it’s not too detailed in describing things, places, and other setting elements. It’s okay for me, and it’s not cheesy at all.

“Until Nick, I’d never really felt like a person, because I was always a product. Amazing Amy has to be brilliant, creative, kind, thoughtful, witty, and happy.” p.252

This story teaches me that not all things can happen like the way we hope. It’s a mind trap for Amy, and for me, and anyone else. Even Amy was willing to lie to herself, to anyone, about who she really was to be able to make everything under her control. And being brilliant can get us anywhere, but not everywhere. There must be flaws in our brilliant plan. Again, it occured to Amy, so we do not need to be too confident and proud of it. And the last, be ourselves. Not everyone can take us for granted, for who we really are, but there must be someone, some people, who will. So I learn not to pretend, not to mention to lie to everyone to gain their attention and symphathy.

“Nick loved me…But he didn’t love me, me. Nick loved a girl who doesn’t exist. I was pretending, the way I often did, pretending to have a personality…” p.250

This is the most uncomprehensive and subjective review I’ve ever written (Have I ever been not? Lol). Despite making me bored in the threshold, I like this book and I recommend it to you! Enjoy it and please, for women, do not be an Amy!

Cheerio!!

“But my point was, do something. Whatever it is, do something. Make the most of the situation. Don’t sit and wait for me to fix everything for you.” p.203

PS : I like this quote. Though the context is different, but it pushes me to maximize everything I have, in every situation and not to wait for another people to get help.

 

By the way, this novel is adapted to movie, starring Ben Affleck as Nick  Dunne and Rosamund Pike as Amy Elliot Dune. This is directed by David Fincher (the one who also directed The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo, Panic Room, and The Social Network) and will be out this October. The casts are interesting! Can’t wait to see how they will portray the characters. But I heard there will be something different in the ending. Or will it be totally different? Well, we just can wait and see.

=)

Rating : 4/5

Leave a Reply

