A Gift for Easter

April 5th, 2015.

And I think I fall
And I fall for the Impossible
That Impossible, though it really is impossible,
never leaves my mind

I cant get enough of the Impossible
Every time the night comes
I hope the sun will rise soon
And I will see the Impossible again
While my chance is only that far 

images (1)Happy Easter! Happy (End-of-) Holiday! For those who believe in Christianity, Jesus has (been) resurrected from the death. Recently I question this phenomenon, in personal term. Like, what is the meaning of that for me? Knowledge-wise, there is no difficulty in learning that this has something to do with (uncountable) sin and the guarantee of resurrection and eternal life for those who put their belief in Him. But I just do not know this, like, then? So? Well, anybody would like to explain? Lol.

And I am starting to wonder whether I am going to be a free-thinker after this. Lol. Kidding.

Ehm, okay since this is a personal thing, let’s just stop here. Anyway, I wanna inform you that in my super long and indefinite hiatus from this blog, I read few books (fiction and nonfiction), probably around 7. Mostly I did not finish them. Well, I plan to continue reading them in the mean time (which is not defined yet). Fortunately in the midst of my struggle with this so-called reader’s block, I managed to finish two books, namely The Girl Who Played With Fire and Ksatria, Putri, dan Bintang Jatuh. Honestly, the first one I mentioned was quite disappointing. I barely had any favorite scenes and I was really, really bored and almost gave up reading it unless I remember that I like Lisbeth Salander and Stieg Larsson, the author.

So, in order to cherish few memories about these books, to encourage my realizing commitment to this blog, and to give every one of you a nearly objective opinion and suggestion, I am gonna write a short review for each.

* The Girl Who Played With Fire by Stieg Larsson

Cover

Cover

This is the sequel of Stieg Larsson’s The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo (for review, click here). The story began showing Lisbeth’s life after separating herself with Mikael Blomkvist, travelling here and there and enhancing her appearance and lifestyle after getting much money from her hacking activities. While enjoying her peaceful life, her guardian, Nils Burjman, was looking for the way to revenge her. He was busy searching for any clues of Lisbeth’s past life that might be giving him some helps.

Meanwhile, Mikael, still continuing his journalist-life in Millenium, got a ‘love-call’ from a man named Dag Svensson,who said had a meaningful and reliable information regarding sex-trafficking that involve people in the law and politic world. Dag was willing to expose this public secret through Millenium. Since Millenium was a magazine that always went against the popular stream, Mikael received this offer, without knowing the impact of this to everyone close to him, including the disappearing Lisbeth.

That is all the bloops for this novel. I was really hooked with the first of this series. I was so freakin amazed with the plot and characters. I even remembered the time I read that one, my heart pumped and my brain pictured clearly every descriptions there, and my body felt exhausted even though I did not move any inch just because I could connect with experiences happened there. But it did not occur to me when reading the sequel. It is just waaaay too boring and I just hoped to quickly finish reading this. I was really sure this happened not because of the block in my mind, at least that was not the major reason. I thought the revealing was too long, and the tempo was not right. Many new and surprising characters from Lisbeth’s past did not even attract me. Some occurrences were really not necessary, I thought. Whoofff I did not enjoy and finishing this was really such a relief…

Which makes me sad, since Larsson is a very good author, for me, and Lisbeth is such a fictional role model for me(despite her bisexual preferences which I do not buy at all). Well, this forces me to think twice before reading the final installment of this series. I have decided to read it, though, but not now, not in the mean time.

Surprisingly, there was a movie adaptation from this book. I just knew this while I was looking for an e-cover of this book. It starred different actors from The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo. If you were curious, you may take a look IMDB.

* Ksatria, Putri, dan Bintang Jatuh

Cover

Cover

A local novel created by a famous national author, Dewi Lestari a.k.a Dee (whose birthday is the same with mine hahahahah). This book has been on my to-be-read pile like more than year and a half. and I managed to read this finally because the movie adaptation from this book was gonna be aired. Well, the movie itself was really a meeehhhhhhh, especially the actrees for ‘Bintang Jatuh’, who was really not representing the brain of the Supernova. Fortunately it had Arifin Putra there, who was really absolutely handsome with not-so-disappointing portrayal of Ruben. Uuuu my hubby.

Well, let’s go back to the novel version. I admit now that this novel deserves A HUGE AMOUNT OF FAME AND ATTENTION. I know just by reading only few first chapters of this book that this book is really, really, really well-prepared in advanced. The ending which was quite mysterious in some sense successfully led me to wonder and like, I thought at a glance, that I experience a book-hangover. And I though the ideas there was unexpectedly implanted in my mind, about the white-and-black view of world, the danger of having your mind and principle sold for any currencies instead of your merely body, the emphasized definition of change and creativity is to jump out of system, many more and many more.

Huff my mind was quite blown reading this, like it really was clear that Dee indirectly implanted her ideas, her philosophy to all readers through the characters. I thought she was the one who spoke lol. And I liked that in most scenes there was always a talk about science and it enriched my knowledge and vocabularies too. She is a great author.

I put special interest in Diva kikiki but not the one portrayed in the movie.

Anyway, I am now in the middle of reading Sharp Object by Gyllian Flynn. This is her second novel I read after Gone Girl and rite now, I am in the process of getting a chemistry with Camille, the lead character. Lol

For next, I plan to read :

– Supernova : Akar by Dee

– Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens

– The price of inequality by Joseph E. Stiglitz

I hope I can read a lot this year (55 books minimum!!) and get smarter day by day lollolololol

NB : Anyway, recently I love hearing Automatic by Red Velvet (A South Korean Girl Group). It is about how a person is comfortable being around someone he/she likes that every moves he/she makes just comes automatic as a feedback of their counterparts’ act.

My VERY VERY favorite part of the lyrics :

I love the way, I’m matching my footsteps to yours
It’s already decided, it just comes automatic
I want to continue to stay in the same place as you
It just comes so natural It just comes Automatic

Red Velvet Album Cover

Red Velvet Album Cover

Leave a Reply

